2011 PDGA Rule changes...

This is a place for club members to talk all things Disc Golf and all things non Disc Golf.

2011 PDGA Rule changes...

Postby geo » Thu Jan 13, 2011 11:17 am

Hey everyone, happy new year!!! Bag tag challenge was a blast (and long)!!! Just thought I'd open a discussion about the new rule changes for 2011 and see what everyone's opinions are (and make sure everyone is aware of them). I for one like MOST of the changes. Here they are, also on the main page of the PDGA.com site:

DROP ZONE: 800 & 803.11
Added the option for TDs to designate a drop zone for a lost disc. This might be done on big downhill holes where lost discs are common and identifying a drop zone farther down the hill speeds play.

HOLING OUT: 803.13
Starting in 2011, a player will not have to remove the disc to complete the process of holing out which was required under current rules. Once the group has decided the disc has come to rest, the player has holed out.

Several target related terms have been officially defined and added to the Definitions section 800 in support of the Holing Out rule. Definitions for Basket Target, Tray, Chains, Chain Support and Pole have been added.

Groups will now be responsible to make judgment calls on how discs enter the basket. Discs that attempt to enter or actually get all the way into the chains or basket thru the top of the chain support or thru the side or bottom of the basket now will not count if the group or official sees that happen. This means wedgies, most which wedge from the outside, now will not count unless it was a blind shot where no one saw how the disc wedged. Putts that are observed to properly enter the basket from above the rim and then wedge trying to get out will count as holed out like before.---There is a picture of what discs do and don't count on the main site.

OPTIONAL RETHROW (formerly Unplayable Lie): 803.06
While changing the rule name seems cosmetic, it eliminates a potential double penalty that might occur when the 2m rule was in force and provides an alternate option for missed mandatories. Under the new Optional Rethrow rule, players who miss a mandatory now have the option to rethrow from their original lie instead of the Mando Drop Zone if they prefer.

Essentially, the Optional Rethrow means players may rethrow from their original lie if their disc lands in any of the disc golf penalty hazards – OB, Missed Mando, above 2m and Lost (which already is handled this way) – and receive a 1-throw penalty. Of course just like the old Unplayable Lie rule, a player may choose this Optional Rethrow penalty without permission from the group no matter where their disc lands whether inbounds or a hazard location.

The old Unplayable Lie rule allowed players to either move back up to 5m on the line of play or return and throw from their original lie. The option to move back up to 5m has been eliminated. Throwing again from the original lie is now the only option as the renamed rule indicates.

GENERAL – Provisional Throws: 803.01C
Although not directly part of the Optional Rethrow rule, the new rule for Provisional Throws clarifies that a player may not later declare a throw they first called a Provisional as their Optional Rethrow. The player must go back and make an optional rethrow (if that's what they decided is the best option) and not use that provisional throw after seeing the results of the provisional and the original throw.

OBSTACLES AND RELIEF: 803.05
Significant changes here. A player is not allowed to move any obstacle on the course with the exception of casual obstacles to a stance listed below. A player is allowed to request that other people remove themselves and/or their belongings from the player's stance or line of play. This includes spectators, umbrellas, golf bags, chairs, etc…

Casual obstacles as in current rules – casual water, loose leaves or debris, broken branches no longer connected to a tree, motor vehicles, harmful insects or animals, players' equipment, people, or any item or area specifically designated by the director before the round – can be moved if they are in the player’s stance or run-up, even if part of the item like a branch is in front of the lie.

If the casual item can’t be moved, like water or a bee hive, the player may take free relief up to 5m back on the line of play like before. If players require additional relief beyond 5m, they may invoke either the new Optional Relief rule (803.05C) and go back on the line of play as far as they desire with a one-throw penalty. Or, decide to declare the Optional Rethrow discussed previously and return to their original lie and throw again with a one-throw penalty.

DISC ABOVE OR BELOW THE PLAYING SURFACE: 803.08
The “disc below playing surface” phrase has been moved from the Rules Q&A and added to this rule. This applies to a disc located down on a “non-playing surface” that players would not be able to play from such as a crack in the ground. The “disc below playing surface” section does not apply to a disc resting on or above a playing surface where another playing surface like a bridge might also pass above the disc. It’s possible that moving vertically from the front edge of the disc closest to the target up to the level playing surface might be a point in space. If so, then mark the lie on the playing surface near the edge of the crack on the line of play no closer to the target.


I like the optional re-throw at any time (previous lie or tee) but people need to be careful not to confuse this with a provisional throw, example-- You tee off, see your disc go down into jail, think it might be lost so you throw a provisional. You get down there and find your disc but it's an almost impossible shot and you elect to take a one stroke penalty and use the optional re-throw and think your provisional throw can be your re-throw--wrong. You must return to your previous lie and throw again (no stroke for practice throw). I'm only bringing this up because many people on the PDGA discussion board asked and seemed to be confused about this. I also like the moving of debris in your stance even if it extends beyond your lie and the not having to personally remove your disc from the basket for the hole to be considered finished. Also remember if a disc is considered "at rest" by the group, it is there for good regardless if wind blows it out of the basket or down the hill, kicked, grabbed, whatever. I'm still undecided about the wedgie. I guess I don't mind that rule change since I've very rarely had that happen to me but people will need to be more aware that if you throw a thumber and it goes thru the top and in (Discatcher) it doesn't count if it's seen. If you don't see it, it's in! A putt that wedges in the side or goes all the way in thru the side or top doesn't count unless unseen. Just about everything doesn't count now except for a disc hanging from the secondary nubs INSIDE the basket where the inner chains hang from. No top nubs, no cage hangers, no balancing discs. These rules change our sport so I thought I'd post this here for everyone to see. Check PDGA.com for more info. I know not everyone is a tourney player but this still affects everyone. Thought? Opinions? ...Let'em fly!!!
geo
Decent Individual
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 2:42 pm
Location: East Bay

Return to General Disc-ussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron
SFDGC Logo About Us | Site Map | Privacy Policy | Contact UsSFDGC Logo
©2010 San Francisco Disc Golf Club
Site by SFDGC Members
Hosting by BlueHost.com